ECDL Sylabus


Publicly accessible, periodically updated list of topics of the ECDL Foundation, defining the matter-of-fact content of the notion “Basic computer literacy”.

For the basic ECDL testing, Syllabus is available in versions 4.0 (2003) and 5.0 (2009). Corresponding sample tests are available at the website of the ECDL Foundation. The originals in English and are available here:


The level of knowledge and skills for work with computers is defined in the ECDL Syllabus and divided into seven basic testing modules and each of them can be completed independently. The first module test is theoretical, the other ones are practical. After passing tests of any four modules, the applicant can obtain the Certificate ECDL Start but the ECDL Certificate can only be obtained by those who pass tests of all seven following modules:

Module 1 – Concepts of Information and Communication Technology (ICT)
- requires the candidate to understand the main concepts of ICT at a general level, and to know
about the different parts of a computer.

Module 2 – Using the Computer and Managing Files 
- requires the candidate to demonstrate competence in running and managing a personal computer.

Module 3 – Word Processing
- requires the candidate to demonstrate the ability to use a word processing application to create everyday letters and documents.

Module 4 – Spreadsheets
- requires the candidate to understand the concept of spreadsheets and to demonstrate an ability to use a spreadsheet to produce accurate work outputs.
Module 5 – Using Databases
- requires the candidate to understand the concept of a database and demonstrate competence in using a database. 
Module 6 - Presentation
- requires the candidate to demonstrate competence in using presentation software.

Module 7 - Web Browsing and Communication
- is divided into two sections. The first section, Web Browsing, requires the candidate to know about the Internet and to use a web browsing application.
- the second section, Communication, requires the candidate to understand some of the concepts of electronic mail (e-mail) and know about other communication options.

For more informations about ECDL Sylabus pleas mail to

ECDL Advanced


In 2008, ECDL Foundation conducted a substantial review of ECDL Advanced Syllabus in order to ensure that it reflected ongoing advances in technologies and relevant practices.

ECDL Advanced is a high-level certification programme designed for those who have successfully reached ECDL skills levels and wish to further enhance their computer proficiency.

ECDL Advanced covers the following modules:

  • Advanced Word Processing
  • Advanced Spreadsheets
  • Advanced Database
  • Advanced Presentation

The ECDL / ICDL Advanced modules give candidates the opportunity to be certified at an 'expert level' in the use of these application types, acquiring skills sets over and above the routine features of the software.  Candidates who successfully complete any one of the modules will receive an ECDL / ICDL Advanced certificate in that module.  Candidates who successfully complete all four modules are awarded the ECDL / ICDL Expert certification.

For more information please mail to